Yard Work Sucks, er…..Life Phases Part 1

 

Ken’s garden, April 24, 2014

I really admire this garden.  It is located near the trail head of one of my favorite hiking and trail running areas.  The gardener, Ken, is a retired college professor , among other things, and is perhaps in his mid to late 70’s.  I really have no idea, I’m a terrible judge of age, but he is at least a couple decades older than me.  It’s always enjoyable to stop and chat and come mid-summer, he often has extra produce to share.

My very best girlfriend lives in northern Maine on over 150 acres of land.  She has an old apple orchard that she and her husband tend as well as a large vegetable garden and numerous flower beds.  Her big love??  Growing roses FROM SEED, cultivating and hybridizing them. (see below)   They are spectacular!

My husband and I bought our first home in 1995. Our one “requirement” financially was that after paying the mortgage we had a little money left over to go out for pizza.  We ended up with an 800 square foot home in the Snoqualmie Valley east of Seattle.  The Sno-Valley has incredible soil.  It’s a place where if you spit, something might grow. We put in a 10 x 12 vegetable garden and grew early lettuces, spring onions, radishes, spinach, carrots, beets, peas, tomatoes, beans, and three kinds of squash.  We had apple trees, planted blueberries and an herb garden, a sunflower patch and numerous flower beds.  The kids could graze on home grown veggies and fruit all summer.  In the fall, they enjoyed apple sauce and apple pies and could pick their own pumpkins. Thanksgiving found us still putting our own produce on the table.  I spent countless hours, planning, designing, ordering seeds, prepping the dirt, and weeding.  I spent countless hours weeding and hoeing and weeding.  It was splendid!

Had you told me in 1999 that I would move away and no longer garden, I would have been incredulous!   I would have accused you of being a crack smoking doofus who clearly didn’t know jack.  Alas, you would have been correct… It’s been 9 years since we moved.  Our mountain home has a small yard which is covered in snow 7 months out of the year.  The other 5 months it’s a gravel lot.  My garden space has been reduced to two small planters by the front door and an occasional hanging plant.  In mid-summer the wildflowers take over and it’s somewhat respectable.  I never plant.  I never weed.  While I do miss the garden produce and the kids running around content, close to nature, enjoying the food at hand, I am happy to  have the time to  be outside running , hiking, playing in the snow or just sitting on my butt looking at the sky.  It’s a life phase thing , I’m sure of it.   Maybe someday I will get back to a garden and find happiness cultivating vegetables, fruits and flowers.  Right now, I will admire the gardens of others.  Life phases happen.

Image

 

One thought on “Yard Work Sucks, er…..Life Phases Part 1

  1. Pingback: Monday Things, Mid May | mountainme

Leave a Reply

