Trip to the Coast

Late summer, the final week, and we finally got a mini vacation.  My husband, son and I went to Pacific City / Cape Kiwanda Oregon.  Now, I have to admit that I hate the drive down there.  I-5 South from Seattle is a bland trip no matter what they make it look like in movies!  Heavy traffic in Portland prevented a quick stop to see a new friend.  It’s a 6 hour drive and almost every time we do it I complain about how we could fly to Hawaii in that time!  But when you arrive?  Well, Pacific City has just what you need, Pelican Pub and Brewery, a coffee shop of course, a surf shop and a stand with super yummy fish tacos.

It also has some amazing scenery….

My husband did a lot of surfing but I was left ashore….the waves were several feet overhead.  Too formidable for my beginner surf skills.  We did a lot of beach walking and took in the views.  So wonderful!

sea stack off the beach in Pacific City
the huge dune on Cape Kiwanda
My son and I exploring below Proposal Rock
The curve of beach at Pacific City from  halfway up the dune
2 thoughts on “Trip to the Coast

Leave a Reply

