October

October was a busy month!  We bought a new car.  My husband’s ’04 WRX had over 370,000 miles on it and had to be put out to pasture.  It was on it’s second engine, but everything else was worn out!  Within the next year, he will reach the point of having logged a million miles in Subarus!  LOVE them!

our new Subaru Crosstrek

I also went to Las Vegas for a weekend with my daughter to celebrate her 21st birthday.  She turned 21 back in September.  We have been through a lot together, especially over the last decade.  She is a type 1 diabetic; life is not always easy.  It’s a very challenging disease to live with 24/7.  So, we thought it was a great occasion to get a little over the top and celebrate her birthday!

We have both tired of telling this story, but….so we got tickets to see Billy Idol.  She has always been a fan since she was a kid.  No idea why….she also bought a Meet and Greet ticket!    Let’s just say that didn’t go as planned.  Some nit wit (this is the G rated version) a couple of people ahead of my daughter (who was about 6th in line out of 100) decided to try to KISS BILLY!!  That ended with him freaking out, swearing and storming off, cancelling the M&G and threatening to cancel the show!  Some people just can’t follow the rules!!  After a lot of waiting and chaos over a couple of hours, we arrived at our table.  The offending fan was eventually taken away by security.  The concert was GREAT.  Excellent venue, super staff and a great show.  It wasn’t exactly the experience she had dreamed of, but not many of us get to see a rock star freak out from five feet away!  Now that is a memory!!
October has been rainy…very rainy.  I thought I was being premature complaining about it until I read that this October has been the RAINIEST on record in the Seattle area. (about 10 inches)  We tend to get a bit more rain here in the mountains, so no wonder it’s been getting to me!!!  Every day is wet and dark.  Every day is wet and dark.  Did you hear me?  Every day is WET and DARK!!  Gotta think snow….there is some up high.  Hopefully, November will be white!
Mae and I wish you all a very happy month ahead.  Hope your days are dry and bright!

2 thoughts on “October

  1. Congrats on the new Subaru! I bought my first Subaru a couple of years ago from my neighbor and I absolutely love it. It’s a 2010 Forester and it couldn’t be more perfect for me. Regarding Billy Idol – holy cow – he looks great for an old punker! I remember dancing to his music in the 80’s, shoulder pads, big bangs, et al. I’m glad that you and your daughter got to enjoy his show.

    • Oh a Forester! Aren’t Subies awesome? You know Billy did look good, even in person! Though my daughter said up close he is a bit wrinkled and he’s also very short…we had a terrific time! Shoulder pads and big hair! (glad I wasn’t the only one :)) Thanks so much for stopping by and for the follow~k

Leave a comment